My fabulous students

There doesn’t seem to be much happening in this video. But that, in fact, is precisely the point.

I often ask the kids to work as quietly as possible. After all, most tasks require real focus and, in my experience, it’s difficult for anyone to concentrate if there are too many distractions.

However, I was even more pleased than usual with my English group this morning. The children handed out their books, found a place to sit and then, quite simply, began to work. No disturbances; no fuss; no prompting from me.

Don’t get me wrong – the kids are always well behaved, and put incredible effort into their lessons. But today I could have heard a pin drop as they settled down perfectly, all by themselves.

Of course, I also give the kids plenty of opportunities to chat – in English, preferably 😀 – as well as play games, do group-work and generally have fun. And on this occasion, I later treated them to a short movie, because they really deserved to relax.

A fitting end to a class in which they not only worked beautifully, but (once again) made their teacher very happy indeed.